European Architectural Heritage Year

Additional Images
Sub Categories
Image Description

White text and an illustration of the tops of buildings on a black background

Back Style
The Shape
The Size
Year / Decade Made
Additional Information

1975 was declared the European Architectural Year by the Council of Europe, which is an international organization that promotes the rule of law in Europe. The purpose of the 1975 European Architectural Year initiative was to develop a policy to protect architectural heritage in Europe. The Council of Europe drafted a charter that explains the legal, administrative, financial, and technical aspects of the conservation policy.

European Architectural Heritage Year was meant to make Europeans more appreciative of their historic structures and get landmark cities to take action to preserve them. Participating countries were asked to choose acclaimed sites which show commendable restoration. Some of the selected projects include Helsingor in Denmark, the landscapes of Central Zealand in Belgium, Berlin and Rothenburg in Germany, Holycross and Limerick in Ireland, Verona in Italy, and Stavanger in Norway. These projects remind tourists that lesser-known cities in Europe have hidden gems for all to enjoy.


Council of Europe. (2018). Retrieved from

European Architectural Heritage Year. (1975). Retrieved from…

European Charter of the Architectural Heritage - 1975. (2011). Retrieved from…

Catalog ID EV0606