You are here

No Third Term

No Third Term Political Button Museum
Additional Images: 
No Third Term button back Political Button Museum
Sub Categories: 
Text on Button: 
Image Description: 

Red white and blue striped background with white and blue text on top

Back Style: 
The Shape: 
The Size: 
Additional Information: 

Franklin D. Roosevelt had served two terms as President of the United States before becoming the first President to seek a third term.  It had not yet been amended in the Constitution to have a two term limit for the President.  The 1940 Presidential election saw Roosevelt run as the incumbent against Republican nominee Wendell Willkie, who campaigned against Roosevelt serving a third term.  Roosevelt won the election becoming the first President to serve three terms.  The 22nd Amendment to the U.S. Constitution, ratified in 1951 would limit the President's time in office to two terms.    

Catalog ID: 
Share with your friends: