Porto Rico

Additional Images
Sub Categories
Text on Button PORTO RICO
Image Description

Illustration of a flag with red and white stripes and a blue triangle with a white star on a white background with blue text

Back Style
The Shape
The Size
Additional Information

Puerto Rico (formerly Porto Rico) is an unincorporated United States territory located in the northeast Caribbean. It is an archipelago, consisting of one main island and several smaller ones. The islands were colonized by Spain in 1508 and named for their rich natural resources, particularly gold. Nearly four hundred years later, in 1898, Spain ceded Puerto Rico to the United States, and in 1917, it became the first unincorporated U.S. territory.

One May 17, 1932, the United States Congress approved a law that changed the spelling from the Anglicanized version, Porto Rico, to the original spelling, Puerto Rico.


1900-1949. (n.d.) Puerto Rico’s History. Welcome to Puerto Rico! Retrieved from http://welcome.topuertorico.org/history5.shtml

1851-1899. (n.d.) Puerto Rico’s History. Welcome to Puerto Rico. Retrieved from http://welcome.topuertorico.org/history4.shtml

XV Century-1599. (n.d.) Puerto Rico’s History. Welcome to Puerto Rico! Retrieved from http://welcome.topuertorico.org/history.shtml

Malavet, P. (2004)  America's colony: the political and cultural conflict between the United States and Puerto Rico. NYU Press. pp. 43. Retrieved from https://books.google.com/books?id=SBVNabQqPbAC&q=porto#v=snippet&q=43&f…

Catalog ID AR0426